Reviews

Add A Reviews

Rated 5/5 based on 3 customer reviews
"I came to require PT for shoulder pain and my sports med doc recommended Dirigo Physical Therapy. I had been through PT before (elsewhere in PWM) so I thought I knew what to expect, but I was so impressed by the care that Lloyd & team provided. What I appreciated most about the experience is that every appointment was one on one. He was watching every rep, ensuring that my form was correct each time so that I was getting the most out of each session. The team is really friendly and super knowledgeable. I would definitely recommend Dirigo Physical Therapy!"
Jul 10, 2019
From Google
"Getting to work with Dr. Beckett at Dirigo PT has been a game changer for me. I've had weak knee joints since running a marathon 10 years ago and tearing my meniscus and wrongly assumed that my knees would never be the same. I recently started exercising 6 days a week and my knees could barely handle it. My sports orthopedic doc he seemed to think I'd benefit from relearning mechanics of movements like squats and running. I was a little skeptical of how helpful PT could be, and definitely assumed it would take months to make any difference since I've been feeling this way for 10 years. How wrong I was - after only one month of sessions 2x/week with Dr. Beckett my issues were almost entirely resolved. I feel so empowered by my experience here as I better understand the mechanics of these movements (thanks to Dr. Beckett's patience in explaining it in depth to me multiple times and answering my many questions), my knees are so much more stable since we strengthened the muscles around them, and I have tons of resources of exercises to do on my own to keep this up. Here are some of the other things that I love about Dirigo PT and that make me recommend it so highly: - Dr. Beckett and his staff are all so friendly, professional and knowledgeable. - Your PT here spends your whole appointment with you. I've been to other PTs where they were juggling too many patients at once and you'd be left on your own unsure if you were doing exercises correctly. - The facility is GORGEOUS, spacious and clean with tons of brand new equipment. - The assessment was really in depth. Part of my issue included things like poor mechanics when running or jumping, so it was so helpful to watch in slow motion a recording of me doing these activities, and then to see another recording of it one month later and to see the issues resolved. - Dr. Beckett is creative and keeps it interesting, so you'll enjoy your sessions when they would otherwise feel tiring or mundane. I really can't recommend Dirigo PT highly enough!"
Jul 04, 2019
From Google
"Recently, an old injury to my spine acted up again causing pain in the legs and limiting my mobility. The original injury had crushed some portions of the spine causing me to lose the use of my left leg. The damaged parts were removed by surgery, and I lost 2 inches in height, but the use of the leg was restored. For the more recent problem, I was referred to Brianna Tupper at Dirigo PTP for physical therapy. She worked on the damaged area and provided me with a series of exercises in addition to those that were already part of my daily routine for my spine. Within a week, the pain in the legs was gone and full mobility restored. Treatment was concluded after 5 weeks, and I found that the muscles in the area of concern were stronger than before the recent problem arose. I would strongly recommend Brianna Tupper and DirigoPTP to anyone seeking a knowledgeable physical therapist. Thank you, Brianna! Stan B."
May 26, 2019
From Google
"Recently, an old injury to my spine acted up again causing pain in the legs and limiting my mobility. The original injury had crushed some portions of the spine causing me to lose the use of my left leg. The damaged parts were removed by surgery, and I lost 2 inches in height, but the use of the leg was restored. For the more recent problem, I was referred to Brianna Tupper at Dirigo PTP for physical therapy. She worked on the damaged area and provided me with a series of exercises in addition to those that were already part of my daily routine for my spine. Within a week, the pain in the legs was gone and full mobility restored. Treatment was concluded after 5 weeks, and I found that the muscles in the area of concern were stronger than before the recent problem arose. I would strongly recommend Brianna Tupper and DirigoPTP to anyone seeking a knowledgeable physical therapist. Thank you, Brianna! Stan B. "
May 26, 2019
"If you need physical therapy, there is no better place than Dirigo Physical Therapy in the Portland area. Individual attention for your full hour and their cutting edge treatments compliment traditional physical therapy. My athletic past is coming back to haunt me, so I am thankful for the work Brianna and team do to help me get pain free."
May 25, 2019
From Google
"Brianna Tupper helped me get my wrist back to were it was before I broke it. Now I can get back to my Metalsmithing."
Apr 30, 2019
From Google
"Dirigo Physical Therapy & Performance is a fantastic facility with a well educated and knowledgeable staff. I saw Brianna after having my first child to help with diastasis recti. She helped me get back to my normal exercise routine quickly and safely. I would highly recommend this practice and Bri!"
Apr 29, 2019
From Google
"The best in Portland"
Apr 19, 2019
From Google
"I had a positively fantastic experience with Dirigo Physical Therapy & Performance. They bring a world class PT experience to Portland with extensive experience in professional athletics. I felt incredibly confident in my treatment and recommend Dirigo to friends and family. I will absolutely to Dirigo for any PT needs in the future."
Mar 29, 2019
From Google
"I went to Dirigo PTP due to the close proximity of to my office, but I soon found out it would have been worth it to travel quite a distance to get the personalized, professional treatment that I received from Dr. Beckett. I came in with a sports injury that had been plaguing me for over a month, and within just 4 visits, I was back on my feet. Dr. Beckett brings a wealth of experience and skills, and as an athlete, I was particularly keen on his experience working in professional sports. (And as a fan, it was fun to get an insider's perspective on the NBA!) The facility is state-of-the-art, with a lot of the same equipment that pro athletes use. On a personal level, Dr. Beckett made me feel comfortable, always explained the foundation for the maneuvers that were being performed, and was transparent with the process. Highly highly recommended!"
Jan 17, 2019
From Google
"I am a pediatrician at Vanderbilt University Medical Center in Nashville and 5 years ago I slipped on a wet marble floor and tore my hamstring on one side. A sports medicine colleague referred me for physical therapy, where I met Lloyd Beckett. This wasn't my first encounter with physical therapy, but it was a game-changing experience for me about how much benefit one could derive from working with a trainer who is first class. For about 10 weeks I met regularly with Lloyd. He was smart, well-trained, highly experienced, and incredibly thorough. I had spent almost 20 years in Boston for my medical training and early career and it was incredibly relaxing to relive a little of New England on a weekly basis when I met with Lloyd. He made a huge difference in my recovery, which took some time. Physical therapy with Lloyd was a quiet opportunity to relax, talk, and learn muscle physiology from a really knowledgeable guy. I was disappointed when Lloyd relocated to New York to work with professional basketball players. I had been trying to figure out how I could engineer a session with him in Brooklyn when I learned he was returning to Maine. There is no way I would see anyone else but Lloyd Beckett for advice and treatment on the multiple injuries I manage to accumulate. I will be seeing Lloyd in Portland this year for a much needed tune up and some New England talk. Physical therapists don't come any better!"
Jan 17, 2019
"I have a mild form of Parkinson's disease and came to see Lloyd for a shoulder injury after a fall.. One look at his resume and I was pretty sure I had found someone very experienced. I have seen many physical therapists in the Portland area, but they were all very similar: slightly boring exercises that did not really translate into strengthening (at least nothing you could feel or quantify). It's not like that here. I have been seeing Lloyd for 4 weeks. My shoulder pain is almost gone; my legs are much stronger. I am getting balance and gait training: (something no one ever worked on with me before). My favorite equipment here is the strap system hooked to a rafter - for squats and rowing - also the light box for working on reaction time. This place is not boring. Anyone can have excellent equipment, but I doubt you will find anyone as knowledgeable as Lloyd. He's also calm and kind. I feel very grateful to have found him."
Jan 17, 2019
"Dr. Lloyd Beckett began treating my middle school daughter this fall during soccer season. She had been experiencing foot and ankle issues for the past year+, and had seen multiple different practitioners with no relief. We were impressed the minute we walked through the door and knew Dirigo Physical Therapy & Performance was different. LLoyd spent over an hour doing a very thorough and data-driven evaluation of her strength, range of motion, and quality of movement. He was able to pin point her areas of weakness and develop a plan to help her. Lloyd has both the knowledge and experience to quickly identify underlying root causes and resolve them. After 2 weeks her pain was completely gone, and she has remained injury free through basketball season! In addition, her strength and speed have increased significantly. I would highly recommend Dirigo PT & Performance to anyone looking for pain relief, or wanting to improve their sports performance and reduce injuries. Dr. Lloyd Beckett is in a class of his own and we're very fortunate to have him in Portland!"
Jan 02, 2019
From Google
"As a patient here, I must say that Dirigo is paving the way for the future of physical therapy in Maine by bringing advanced, up-to-date standards and expertise to our Portland area. It seems only too fitting that the business name comes from our great state of Maine’s own Latin based motto meaning “I lead.” Dr. Lloyd Beckett is a leader, a Mainer, and a true professional who is passionate about is work. His in-field knowledge gained through his incredible experiences as Lead Physical Therapist and Head Athletic Trainer for the NBA’s own Brooklyin Nets is not something one comes by often. His past work involves professional sports athletes placing their best asset under his direct care. The message simply speaks for itself that he is the specialist you need to protect your best asset. As a merchant mariner, I came to Dr. Beckett, in need, after sustaining a serious shoulder injury while on duty at sea. I had become weak, sore, and impossibly stiff. I suffered daily. I had many questions that needed answers that three different doctor’s evaluations had not offered any solution to other than prescription medications and time. I wanted none of that. My physical strength is essential for my duties and I asked Dr. Beckett if he could get me back in the game quick enough so that I would be ready for my next crew change in Brazil. There was no guessing, and after his initial evaluation of my injury, he let me know the future plan to get me going again. Keep in mind, I could barely move my arm at the time and could barely sleep at night from the constant aching pain. The recovery regime was tough, but the results were worth it a 1000 times over. I felt the positive changes immediately the first week with his guidance and customized routines. When you have an injury of this nature and choose not take care of it properly, it will haunt you forever. I could not have that. Lloyd’s expertise and experience in dealing with injuries provided me the professional guidance that I required to avoid this. My mobility and strength gains quickly took off with each session completed. When I eventually followed-up for my company’s medical evaluation, the doctor could not believe the fast recovery results, despite the injury’s severity. He was very impressed with my rapid improvement of my shoulder’s mobility and strength, thus, clearing me for immediate offshore duty regardless of the odds. Plain and simple, Lloyd delivered what he said he would deliver and, for this, has earned my trust forever. He knows how to get the job done safely and done correctly. His facility is spacious, stylish, and filled with clean, new high-end equipment. I felt like a celebrity being there and that is the culture he brings to the table as he focuses on your needs for a successful recovery. Hearing his many adventures through the professional sports world is an absolute entertaining bonus, as well. It is a truly comfortable, friendly atmosphere; you’ll know you belong when you get there. I HIGHLY recommend Dirigo Physical Therapy and Performance and Dr. Lloyd Beckett. I hope that others get to read this review and share in my success story for post-injury recovery. Thank you, Dr. Beckett!"
Oct 10, 2018
From Google
"I was anxious about entering into PT after a long delay following my injury. Dr. Beckett quickly assured me there was still plenty of work that could be done. His intelligence, patience, calm demeanor, and strong sense of humor will put you at ease. His facility is brand new and so most of the equipment is very fresh and up-to-date. I have been attending for just over six weeks and he has shown me mathematical improvements in terms of flexibility and strength. Highly recommended!"
Sep 23, 2018
From Google
©2018 Google LLC All rights reserved. Google and the Google logo are registered trademarks of Google LLC.